Hitting the books (to be taken literally or figuratively…)

life for the next six months...

As I mentioned in my first post, I am a student. I am currently in my last year of my B.A. studying philosophy at the University of Toronto. I took this picture in Kelly Library and I think that it sums up how I am feeling pretty well: vast amounts of material to get through, but, lo and behold, there is light at the end of the tunnel.

For the past three years I have, for the most part, been in love with the University. By the time I started (I took a gap year) I was so ready for the rigorous learning and  intellectual stimulation that high-school had (for the most part) so painfully lacked. This love affair with the academy has grown increasing complicated as I consider the “what next?” questions that are inevitably arising as I finish up my degree. This year (to my dismay) I found myself  resenting the courses I had been so excited to take and the specific kinds of thinking that I knew they would demand of me. I began my term feeling really, really stir-crazy and SO ready to be out of school.

Now that I am back in the swing of things, school – the hectic world of deadlines, evaluations, class and mega-stress – doesn’t seem quite so bad. I am still looking forward to having time to read my own books, think my own thoughts, and go outside (kidding), that the end of school will allow, but knowing that these fall midterms are the last fall midterms of my BA and that my Christmas term-papers will be the last Christmas term-papers that I will write at U of T makes it a bit easier to feel like I am traveling towards the end…and the beginning of a big (scary) adventure.

Published in: on November 4, 2010 at 3:09 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://newwomanoldworld.wordpress.com/2010/11/04/hitting-the-books-to-be-taken-literally-or-figuratively/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

